Press Release

Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA

Medical technology conference comes to Stuttgart

Media Service March 2017

Fraunhofer IPA intends to establish a new conference format in cooperation with trade fair organizers UBM and Stuttgart Messe to run parallel with Medtec Europe. The “Medical Device Manufacturing” symposium is aimed at bringing together research and industry experts from all over the world to develop solutions for the global market. On April 5, 2017, this new format will be presented within the scope of a public symposium to professionals and representatives from, among other organizations, BIOPRO, Technology Mountains and VDMA Medical Engineering.

The framework for the Medical Device Manufacturing Conference contains everything required to become an internationally renowned symposium for medical engineering. Firstly, Baden-Württemberg’s highly prominent metal and plastics manufacturing industry makes it one of the most important locations for the industry across Europe. Secondly, being held in parallel to Medtec Europe ensures that the most important industry players from throughout the world will be in attendance. The launch meeting will take place as a public symposium for the conference planned for 2018. Following this, the Conference Board will meet for the first time to discuss key issues to be covered at the conference and announce a call for papers.

Medical engineering regulations are tricky to apply

One of the symposium’s thematic blocks deals with the regulatory requirements for medical engineering products and devices as well as their consequences for manufacturing. These will be continually further developed at national, international and European level. Schneider explains: “Every country would like to be able to economize its healthcare system while at the same time increasing patient safety. Technological progress and political amendments therefore require that countries update requirements on an ongoing basis.” For manufacturers of medical products, these modifications cost time and money.

International experts discuss, among other things, pioneering technologies including 3D printing during the launch meeting for the new “Medical Device Manufacturing” Shown here is a prosthetic foot engineered in additive manufacturing.

The symposium additionally sheds light on innovative, pioneering technologies within the industry. For example, 3D printing to manufacture personalized and customized implants could play an important role in this. In this context, experts are discussing how innovative manufacturing processes, for example hybrid processes combining 3D printing and machining, could be exploited within the medical engineering industry. Representatives from corporate and academic research will meet industry associations at the event. Roland Zengerle, Professor at the Department of Microsystems Engineering (IMTEK) at the University of Freiburg, and Faraj Abdelnour, an expert in medical engineering approvals at the French company AB Certification, will both speak at the event.

 

Information, program and registration: ubm.medteceurope.com/mdm-conference/

Dr. Urs Schneider, Head of Medical Engineering and Biotechnology at Fraunhofer IPA

“Being held in parallel to Medtec Europe in Stuttgart ensures that market leaders in medical engineering supply and manufacturing engineering will be in attendance. Furthermore, many industry-relevant companies active in the metal and plastics engineering sector are based in Baden-Württemberg.”

Anne Schumacher, Director of Medtec Europe at UBM

“Stuttgart has long been one of the most important locations across Europe for medical engineering. With Medtec Europe and an expert conference running in parallel to each other, we are delighted to be able to accentuate the exceptional position of this business location even more strongly than before. Leading experts such as Fraunhofer IPA and other industry representatives are the brains behind this format, which perfectly complements the trade fair’s programme.

Ulrich Kromer, CEO of Messe Stuttgart

“This new international medical conference strengthens Messe Stuttgart's competency in the field of medical events, which enjoy an illustrious reputation. With the region situated in close proximity to airports and freeways, our exceptional transport infrastructure guarantees quick journeys and short routes even for international event formats. Stuttgart’s cultural offerings are also of great importance. The discerning medical professional clientèle will no doubt enjoy networking in the regional capital in the evenings. 

Further information

Presseinformation

Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnik und Automatisierung IPA

Kongress für Medizintechnik kommt nach Stuttgart

Mediendienst März 2017

Zeitgleich zur Medtec Europe will das Fraunhofer IPA in Kooperation mit dem Messeveranstalter UBM und der Landesmesse Stuttgart ein neues Kongressformat etablieren. Die Fachkonferenz »Medical Device Manufacturing« soll internationale Experten aus Forschung und Industrie zusammenbringen und Lösungen für den Weltmarkt entwickeln. Am 5. April wird dieses neue Format u. a. mit Vertretern von BIOPRO, Technology Mountains und VDMA Medizintechnik in einem öffentlichen Symposium der Fachwelt vorgestellt.

Die Medical Device Manufacturing Conference bringt die besten Voraussetzungen mit, eine international renommierte Tagung für die Medizintechnik zu werden. Einerseits gehört Baden-Württemberg mit der starken Metall- und Kunststoffproduktion europaweit zu den wichtigsten Standorten der Branche. Andererseits stellt die Nähe zur Medtec Europe sicher, dass die wichtigsten Akteure aus aller Welt vor Ort sind. Das Auftakttreffen für die im Jahr 2018 geplante Konferenz findet im Rahmen eines öffentlichen Symposiums statt. Anschließend tritt das Conference Board erstmals zusammen, um die Schwerpunkte für die Tagung zu erarbeiten und den Call for Papers auszurufen.


Regularien für Medizintechnik im permanenten Wandel

Ein Themenblock des Symposiums beschäftigt sich mit den regulatorischen Anforderungen für Medizintechnikprodukte und -geräte sowie ihren Konsequenzen für die Herstellung. Diese werden auf nationaler, internationaler und europäischer Ebene immer wieder fortentwickelt. »Jedes Land möchte sein Gesundheitssystem ökonomisieren und gleichzeitig die Patientensicherheit erhöhen. Mit dem technischen Fortschritt und politischen Anpassungen ändern die Nationen daher ständig ihre Auflagen«, erklärt Schneider. Für Hersteller von Medizinprodukten kosten solche Modifikationen viel Zeit und Geld.

Beim Auftakttreffen der neuen Konferenz »Medical Device Manufacturing« diskutieren internationale Experten u.a. über zukunftsweisende Technologien wie 3D-Druck. Hier zu sehen: eine generativ gefertigte Fußprothese.

Weiterhin beleuchtet das Symposium neue, zukunftsweisende Technologien der Branche. Hier kommt beispielsweise dem 3D-Druck für die Herstellung individualisierter und personalisierter Implantate eine wichtige Rolle zu. In diesem Zusammenhang diskutieren die Experten, wie sich innovative Herstellungsverfahren, zum Beispiel Hybridverfahren aus 3D-Druck und Zerspanung, in der Medizintechnik nutzen lassen. Bei der Veranstaltung treffen Vertreter aus der Konzernforschung und der akademischen Forschung auf Branchenverbände. Zu den Rednern gehören Roland Zengerle, Lehrstuhlinhaber am Institut für Mikrosystemtechnik IMTEK der Universität Freiburg oder Faraj Abdelnour, Experte für Medizintechnik-Zulassungen der französischen Firma AB Certification.

Infos und Anmeldung unter: http://ubm.medteceurope.com/mdm-conference/

Dr. Urs Schneider, Leiter Medizin- und Bioproduktionstechnik am Fraunhofer IPA

»Mit der Nähe zur Medtec Europe in Stuttgart stellen wir sicher, dass die Marktführer aus der Medizintechnikzulieferung und der Produktionstechnik vor Ort sind. Weiterhin sitzen in Baden-Württemberg viele branchenrelevante Firmen aus der Metall- und Kunststoffproduktion«.

Anne Schumacher, Leiterin der Medtec Europe bei UBM

»Stuttgart stellt seit jeher für die Medizintechnik einen der bedeutendsten Standorte in ganz Europa dar. Wir freuen uns, dass die Medtec Europe mit der zeitgleich stattfindenden Fachkonferenz die herausragende Position des Wirtschaftsstandorts noch stärker betont. Mit dem Fraunhofer IPA und weiteren Vertretern aus der Industrie stehen führende Experten hinter dem Format, das das Programm der Messe ideal ergänzt«.

Ulrich Kromer, Geschäftsführer der Messe Stuttgart

»Dieser neue, internationale Medizinkongress stärkt die Kompetenz der Messe Stuttgart im Bereich Medizinveranstaltungen, die ein hohes Renommee genießen. Unsere hervorragende Verkehrsinfrastruktur, mit der Lage unseres Geländes, direkt neben Flughafen und Autobahn, garantiert gerade bei internationalen Veranstaltungsformaten eine schnelle Anreise mit kurzen Wegen. Das kulturelle Angebot der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart ist für die anspruchsvolle Klientel der Mediziner ebenfalls von großer Wichtigkeit und wird sehr gerne zum abendlichen Networking genutzt«.